eng
est
eng
est

Tartu St. Luke’s Methodist Church

Vallikraavi tänav 16a, Tartu

2002, Indrek Allmann (AB Pluss)

2026
Accessibility for wheelchairs
Locations
est
eng

Located on the slopes of Toomemägi, Tartu St. Luke’s Church was designed by architect Indrek Allmann (Pluss Architects) and consecrated in 2002. Built strictly along an east-west axis in the Functionalist style, the building won the Tartu Building of the Year award in 2002. The church stands out for its modern architectural language that remains respectful of its surroundings. The angular bell tower features an asymmetrical shape with a modern cross cutout, serving as a distinct visual landmark along Vallikraavi Street. Today, it houses the Tartu St. Luke’s Congregation of the Estonian Methodist Church.

The site itself has a compelling history. Although the Estonian Methodist Church acquired the plot on Vallikraavi Street back in 1926, the church originally designed in 1931 by architect Engelhardt Corjus was never built due to political instability and World War II. Instead, the congregation met in a late 19th-century villa on the property, previously owned by Werner Zoege von Manteuffel, a renowned surgery professor at the University of Tartu. In 1940, the land was unlawfully nationalised by Soviet authorities, and on July 12, 1941, the Manteuffel villa burned down after being struck by an incendiary bomb dropped by a Soviet destruction battalion. The ornate metal fence on a stone plinth is the sole surviving element from that era.

During the Soviet period, the upper level of the plot housed a municipal water supply borehole and its surrounding protective sanitary zone, leaving it undeveloped. Meanwhile, the lower level was home to the legendary Vallikraavi sports field – a center of Tartu’s basketball scene in the 1950s and 60s, even hosting at least one USSR Championship match. The Methodist Church regained ownership of the land in 1998.

Outside by the main entrance

We will visit the main sanctuary, the balcony and tower, the utility rooms, and the office space

25

45–60 min

The tour is without registration; admission is based on a first-come, first-served basis.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay updated year-round on Estonian Centre for Architecture’s tours and other activities here!