eng
est
eng
est

Tartu Town Hall

Raekoja plats 1a, Tartu

1788, Johann Heinrich Bartholomäus Walter

2026
Locations
est
eng

Due to stairs, the building is unfortunately not accessible for wheelchairs or mobility aids

The Town Hall is one of Tartu’s most iconic symbols. Designed by master builder Johann Heinrich Bartholomäus Walter from Rostock, the building was officially opened in 1786, though finishing touches continued for another three years. The previous wooden town hall had been destroyed in the Great Fire of 1775, after which Tartu began taking on a new look aligned with Enlightenment ideals and Neoclassical design.

The architecture of the Town Hall merges the features of a grand Baroque public building with those of an Early Neoclassical city palace. A high mansard roof and central tower create a formal silhouette, while the symmetrical facade, triangular pediment, and ordered rhythm of the windows lend the front of the building a refined Neoclassical character. On the third floor, the council chamber with its ornate stucco decoration continues to serve as a prominent space for formal occasions.

Historically, the building served multiple civic and everyday functions, housing the town council chambers, the public weighhouse, a prison, and various administrative offices. Today, it houses the Tartu City Government, the city information center, and a pharmacy. The building also shapes the daily rhythm of the city with its famous tower clock and carillon.

In front of the building

he tour involves climbing several flights of stairs to explore the corridors, meeting rooms, and main hall, ending up in the attic

15

45-60 min

The tour is without registration; admission is based on a first-come, first-served basis.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay updated year-round on Estonian Centre for Architecture’s tours and other activities here!