Subscribe to our newsletter
Stay updated year-round on Estonian Centre for Architecture’s tours and other activities here!

Address:Ülikooli 18, Tartu
Architects:1809, Johann Wilhelm Krause
Due to stairs, the building is unfortunately not fully accessible for wheelchairs or mobility aids.
The main building of the University of Tartu is one of the most iconic structures in Tartu and all of Estonia. Completed in 1809, it was designed by Johann Wilhelm Krause, head of the university’s building committee, on the site of the medieval St. Mary’s Church, which had been destroyed during the Great Northern War. The building is considered a masterpiece of High Neoclassicism, strongly influencing early 19th-century architecture in Estonia.
The defining feature and dominant element of the main facade is its six Tuscan columns and a portico with a triangular pediment. To enhance its visual impact, the building is set back from the street line, creating a raised terrace in front of it. Among the interior spaces, the most grand is the second-floor assembly hall (aula) – Estonia’s finest example of Empire-style interior design. The rest of the interior spaces, including the foyer and main staircase, are modest and simple in design.
Between 1856 and 1858, two two-story wings were added to the rear of the main building, with the left wing housing the University of Tartu Art Museum. The main building ensemble also includes the former university church situated between the wings, which today hosts the art-house cinema Elektriteater.
In the foyer of the University of Tartu main building
The tour covers the building’s corridors, classrooms, an auditorium with historic wooden furniture, the main assembly hall, the Art Museum rooms, and the historic student lock-up in the attic
Maximum visitor count:20
Tour length:45-60 min
The tour is without registration; admission is based on a first-come, first-served basis.
Subscribe to our newsletter
Stay updated year-round on Estonian Centre for Architecture’s tours and other activities here!