eng
est
eng
est

University of Tartu Museum at Tartu Cathedral

Lossi 25, Tartu

13.-16. sajand

2024
2026
Locations
est

Due to stairs, the building is unfortunately not fully accessible for wheelchairs or mobility aids

Looming over Toomemägi, Tartu Cathedral is one of Estonia’s largest and most significant medieval structures, as well as an iconic symbol of the city. The cathedral was first mentioned in written sources in 1224, when Tartu became the seat of the bishopric. As the diocese’s mother church had to be located in a city, it was the construction of the cathedral that officially granted Tartu city status. Construction spanned nearly 300 years, but in its completed form, the twin-towered cathedral operated for only a few decades before being ruined during the Livonian War in 1558. Since then, it has no longer functioned as a religious center. The fact that the cathedral’s original exterior – including the true height of its towers – cannot be precisely reconstructed due to a lack of surviving drawings or descriptions remains a central point in ongoing debates regarding its potential restoration.

In the early 19th century, the University of Tartu Library was constructed within the ruins of the ambulatory choir and the eastern bays of the nave, initially divided into three floors by intermediate ceilings. Later, in the 1920s and 1930s, the building was expanded, increasing the number of floors to seven. The interior retains Neoclassical decor blended with Gothic Revival elements from this era. The wall surfaces are articulated by cluster shafts and cornices, with the triforium zone marked by decorative niches. On the north and south sides, the outer walls were originally supported by massive buttresses, between which side chapels were built.

Today, the building houses the University of Tartu Museum, which showcases the history of science, higher education, and the city of Tartu.

The foyer of the University of Tartu Museum.

Museum offers architecture-themed tours that take visitors into hidden spaces not usually open to the regular museum guest

20

45-60 min

The tour is without registration; admission is based on a first-come, first-served basis.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay updated year-round on Estonian Centre for Architecture’s tours and other activities here!